Melbourne: Greater Love Hath No Man

I have been feeling a bit down for the last 2 weeks. During times like these, I need some happy thoughts to keep me going. So here’s a press (and the first of many to come soon hopefully) about my timeout trip to Melbourne last November. Unlike the chronological presses about Italy/Paris (which were somewhat ‘tedious’ haha), I decided to just press about things that made me happy in Melbourne.

If life indeed has its ups and downs, I think one of the ups of living in Melbourne is being able to immerse in its arts and culture. The first thing we did when we arrived in the world’s most livable city on Day 1 was to visit Federation Square. A square where one can spend a day to soak in the arts and culture, one cannot miss its unique architectural complex which makes it a landmark in the city.


Federation Square – a place to chill in arts and culture.

I have always wanted to find out more about Aboriginal art but never had the time to chance to visit the museums and galleries when I was in Gold Coast and Perth (guess arts is the last thing that will cross your mind in these fun-loving states :P) In Melbourne, I finally did it at The Ian Potter Centre: National Gallery of Victoria (NGV)Australia. While the works of Aboriginal artists are very different from the Renaissance or Impressionist artists,  they have been influenced by the developments and subjects of their time.


Not only did I find out more about aboriginal art on this trip, I also heard more stories – happy and sad – about aborigines.

Aboriginal art used colors of the earth (yellow, brown, black), painted about wildlife (snakes, crocodiles, tortoises) and culture (traditions, dances, rituals) in a symbolic way. Perhaps that was realism to them.

Day 6 was a free & easy day, perfect for a city tour of the museums. Our first stop was the Shrine of Remembrance which commemorates WWII and those who had died in the defence of their countries and loved ones.


Indeed, greater love hath no man.

It was an enjoyable and informative tour in the beautiful shrine. Changi Prison was mentioned during the tour and it’s amazing how our history crossed path at one point in time.


A beautiful walk from the Shrine of Remembrance to the city.

We then took a walk at the Royal Botanic Gardens before we walked to the other NGV – National Gallery of Victoria International. Another stunning architecture in Melbourne (I was expecting a Victorian-vintage museum)!


NGV International Facade – it really took me by surprise.


NGV International Entrance.

Although I only went on a 60-minutes guided tour, I was very impressed by its collection of Weeping woman by Picasso and The Banquet of Cleopatra by Tiepolo amongst others. It may not have the depth of collection of the Italian museums but its breadth definitely took my breath away 😛

Some said they love Melbourne and some said they don’t understand why it is the world’s most livable city. For me, I love the many stunning architectures and great museums/galleries. And the many people who are passionate about their country and what they do – I still remember the guides at the museums who are so passionate about their subjects, volunteers who just want to share their personal experiences with visitors and make them feel at home. This, to me, makes Melbourne the world’s most livable city. I wish I had more time to explore its art and culture…

About cyndichan

Write for a living. Live for travel, run and art. Just back from chasing the cherry blossoms in Tokyo!
This entry was posted in Australia, Melbourne and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

