Kobenhavn

It’s raining in Singapore today as I begin my first press on Copenhagen. Kind of deja vu – the weather was also pretty gloomy when I was there.

As I looked through the photos, realised I covered so much in Copenhagen on my first day (second day really – arrived late by train from Stockholm). It’s Saturday and I don’t want to bore you too much with a long press. So here’s part of the journey, the rest to be shared over the weekend. A few more days maybe, as I have plans this weekend!

Copenhagen is so fairytale-like. The magic applies to the train station too. This is Kobenhavn, the main station. IMG_1520

Must-eat in Copenhagen. 🙂 Pastry at Andersen’s cafe opposite the train station. IMG_1530 IMG_1534

Tivoli. It was closed during the 5 days I was in town. But glad I managed to visit the famous theme park after my return from Reykjavik to Stockholm via Copenhagen. Will press about it later…IMG_1537

The Town hall.  Spotted many bicycles on Copenhagen roads.IMG_1541

More bicycles! And another Tivoli entrance.IMG_1543

H.C. Andersens, the man who planted the fairy tales of living happily ever after in your head 🙂
IMG_1546

And the street named after him. IMG_1549

Another Tivoli entrance. Fun can be very accessible! 😛IMG_1558 - Copy

Ny Carlsberg Glyptotek is amazing! Was quite blown away by its huge collection of art across so many genres. A bit frustrated that I could not see everything though. Such is travel. Sometimes you just have to touch and go.IMG_1563

A sight I have grown accustomed to in Scandinavia. Ship and dock. Spotted on the way to Christiansborg Palace.
IMG_1567

First glimpse of Christiansborg Palace.IMG_1568

Interesting how the facades of many castles in Copenhagen and the greater Copenhagen were quite run-down compared to the interiors which were in better shape.IMG_1570 IMG_1573 IMG_1576 IMG_1578

Will press about the interiors of Christiansborg Palace later. Have a fairytale weekend!

About cyndichan

Write for a living. Live for travel, run and art. Just back from chasing the cherry blossoms in Tokyo!
This entry was posted in Denmark, Travel and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Kobenhavn

  1. PragueByKaty says:

    I really like Copenhagen, thanks for the pictures.
    But I would not be sure that Andersen’s tales are “lived happily ever after”, I try to remember at least one that has a happy ending but I haven’t found any…

Leave a Reply

