Weekly Photo Challenge: My Neighbourhood

This is my first mobile press and Im kind of excited about it! I ♥ the camera feature of my S3 phone and at times,  I find that the pictures turned out better than my prosumer digital camera! Sometimes I find that my smart phone has made life more complicated and really, Phoneography is its saving grace.

Back to the theme -My Neighbourhood. Its really my theme of the moment because Im on a long vacation and have been exploring more of my home! Thanks for this, wordpress!

Here are some pictures of Tiong  Bahru, a relatively vintage area in Singapore. Its not really my immediate neighbourhood but its close enough,  about 10 minutes walk away.

Welcome to Tiong Bahru! The houses here are mostly low-rise, a contrast to the high-rise ptoperty behind!
image

The winding staircase is a distinctive feature.
image

Didnt realise that there are back doors in the back alley.

image

It has changed so much over the years! An old estate injected with new life in the form of hip cafes and shops! Books Actually is a boutique bookshop. Sells limited edition books, I think.
image

Next door is Strangelet. Nothing strange about it though. Nice cute stuff. Maybe I can get Xmas gifts from here this year 😉

image

Posters and postal letter boxes separate the two shops. Its like travelling back in time. Hard to spot these around singapore city anymore…
image
image

A few streets down the road is Tiong Bahru. I like the sandwiches and pastries. Noisy place though. Its always buzzing with a capital B!
image

Nearby is Drips. I popped into the cafe twice recently! Im afraid I have become a Fika addict! 😀
image

Yummy carrot cheesecake + ice cappuccino. Think I prefer the ice latte I had on my second visit. Always feel hot after a neighbourhoodly walk 😉
image

Drips is very serene. Always felt comfortable going there alone. Not sure if you feel the same but some places just dont make singles feel welcome :p
image

♡ the chairs in Drips. For the commoners in you…
image

And the king and queen in your super ego…

image

For Singaporeans who have not had the chance to check out Tiong Bahru, I say got for it! And for visitors to Singapore, its definitely the place to soak in some local culture and chill out! See you in my neighbourhood soon 😉

About cyndichan

ilovelongvacation.wordpress.com is a website based in Singapore. It features articles about travel. journey and life. cyndichan writes about her personal experiences from her travel adventures, sharing her thoughts about what she did, saw and ate. She is a seasoned traveler who has left her footprint in more than 20 countries.
This entry was posted in Phoneography and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Weekly Photo Challenge: My Neighbourhood

  1. frizztext says:

    I like your theme Twenty Ten

  2. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge (Phoneography Challenge): My Neighborhood | Woven Decor

  3. Pingback: Phoneography Challenge: My Neighborhood | Flickr Comments

  4. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge : Lunchtime l Food Diary | ilovelongvacation

Leave a comment